On Saturday 7th April 2018 we rounded off not only what had been a great season but also what had been a great 70 years of badminton in south-west Leinster.

The South West Leinster Badminton League was formed in 1947 to provide competitive badminton across county lines for the first time in the region. From a single mixed league competition with only two grades (Junior & Senior), the League has grown.

Now there are; men’s & ladies leagues, mixed leagues & cups, individual championships (grades 1-7) and a one-day start of the season tournament (grades 1-6). In addition, we try to support juveniles in the region by having an U17 category in the individual championships and running an annual team competition – the Declan Casey Perpetual Trophy.

Finally, we award the Bob Jones Memorial Cup to one club each season that is seen to best represent the values of the league by promoting badminton & contributing to the running of the League.

If you are an individual looking to start badminton, please contact us and we will put you in touch with your nearest SWLBL club. Or, if your club would like to get involved in SWLBL – let us know!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s